Let Me See Your Package

So, um, what’s your project? What’s your company? Aren’t you the Ultra CEO Overlord of something? How are you packaging yourself?

My sincerest hope is that this post doesn’t stand the test of time. I hope to look back on it in a few weeks/months/years and realize that the lack of branding et al on this post/blog on March 10th, 2017 is hilariously no longer relevant. That said, there’s a whole lot of work to be done beforehand, and the only way for me to convey value right now is through the unadorned journey.

Yes, I could make up some random name for a company (that doesn’t yet exist) and an over-inflated, self-aggrandizing title (been there, done that, felt silly while doing it). Yes, I could share tidbits of the games I’m working on before they’re *cough* ready (I will). But for now, there’s no value to be conveyed to you by my doing so…so I’m not. The value is currently in the journey, in the process, in the trenches. Right now the games are barely more than ideas with rules and components that change daily.

Quoth the Gary Vee: Ideas are shit and execution is the game.

I’m sure there are things I could do via Twitter, Facebook, etc. that would help me manufacture an audience, and creating those accounts would be best served by having some package in which to wrap and contain my design efforts (i.e. a company or game). But the truth is, there just isn’t that much to say right now that isn’t best served by these posts. It wouldn’t help you. First, I want to focus my efforts on creating value (which is most effectively done via blog posts/articles). Then I’ll worry about distribution.

This is only post #10 – I sincerely doubt the tens of follower bots that would comprise my current social media audience will mind waiting a few days/weeks until this content has grown and coalesced.

Author: Adam Levitus

I'm the mastermind and wizard (Order of Merlin, First Class) behind A Bit of Levity. Apart from travelling down the road of board game design, I have also created a greeting card design company (Pithy Diction) and co-founded/exited another greeting card subscription company (Greetfully). I'm from Chicago but now live in California (if that matters) - NorCal specifically (which apparently matters a lot).

Leave a Reply

